Congratulations 2018 Employee Recognition Award winners!

Crowded OHS Commons, full of staff from around the district to congratulate 2017 Employee Recognition Award winners.

A scene from last year’s OSD Employee Recognition Awards night at Olympia High School. This year’s winners will be honored at the Monday, May 7, 2018 Olympia School Board meeting. All staff are invited to attend and support the winners!

Congratulations to each of the 2018 Olympia School District Employee Recognition Award winners, who will be honored at the May 7 Olympia School Board meeting.

This annual awards program is designed to recognize employees from throughout the district in several categories. All employees districtwide were invited to send in nominations, and a screening committee reviewed the entries and selected the winners.

The school board will recognize the winners at the start of the board meeting on Monday, May 7, 6:30 p.m. at Olympia Regional Learning Academy (ORLA), 2400 15th Ave. S.E., Olympia.

This year’s award winners include:

The Coach
“Supports Others” – Any staff member who plays a unique role in enabling others to excel.

  • Nikolai Gurda, Upper Elementary Teacher, Olympia Regional Learning Academy

The Champion of Differences
“Celebrates Diversity” – Any staff member who, by his or her actions, celebrates the values and differences of individual groups.

  • Maribeth Wheeler, 2/3 Teacher, Lincoln Elementary School
  • Leslie Gowell, McKinney-Vento Program Support Specialist, Knox Administrative Center

The Innovator
“Changes Making a Difference” – Any staff member who demonstrates innovative strategies that significantly improve the district mission.

  • Elizabeth “Beth” Wilson, 2/3 Teacher, Boston Harbor Elementary School

The Unsung Hero
“Goes the Extra Mile” – Any staff member who continually gets results with little or no fanfare.

  • Sean Mullin, Paraeducator, Special Education, Pioneer Elementary School
  • Jill Johnson, ELL Teacher, Capital High School

The Dream Team
“Above and Beyond” – Any group of staff members working together to help students succeed in or out of the classroom.

  • Madison Elementary School Multidisciplinary Team: Omar Flores, Denise Hammer, Karen Froelicher, and Kristin Sundsten