School board elects new officers in annual reorganization

Mug of School Board President Darcy Huffman

Every year in December, the Olympia School Board elects officers for the coming year during its annual reorganization.

At its December 8 meeting, the board elected Darcy Huffman as this year’s board president and Hilary Seidel as vice president.

Superintendent Patrick Murphy shared a special thank you to Maria Flores for her “steadfast leadership” as board president this past year.

Board members are also appointed annually to serve as liaisons with various community groups and state agencies. This year’s appointments include:

  • Talauna Reed, board representative to the Olympia Education Foundation Board of Directors.
  • Hilary Seidel, board representative to the Thurston Regional Planning Council.
  • Scott Clifthorne, board representative to the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association.
  • Darcy Huffman, legislative representative to the Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA). Huffman is serving the second of a two-year term as legislative representative.
  • Maria Flores, board representative to the Olympia Schools Supportive Education Council.

As a reminder, January is School Board Recognition Month. The Olympia School Board will be recognized at the January 12, 2023 board meeting