Middle and high school teachers invited to apply for $250 mini-grants

The Thurston County School Retirees’ Association is accepting applications for its $250 middle and high school teacher mini-grants for the 2017-18 school year.

The deadline to apply for the mini-grants is January 12, 2018. The grants are designed “to provide an opportunity for  teachers to acquire materials or provide experiences for their students above and beyond what is paid for with district funds. The materials or experiences should supplement and enhance building or district goals.”

View and download a copy of this year’s application. The form is also available at http://www.thurstoncountysra.org.

Thurston County School Retirees’ Association is a chapter of the Washington State School Retirees’ Association.

Wildlife refuge hosts free field trip orientation workshop for educators

Billy Frank Jr. Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge flier

Click to enlarge the flier

Teachers interested in coordinating a field trip for students to the Billy Frank Jr. Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge are invited to a free field trip orientation workshop scheduled in December, February and March.

Learn about the history of the wildlife refuge, participate in indoor and outdoor educational activities, become familiar with the facilities and resources available for educational groups, and walk the Twin Barns Loop Trail.

Four clock hours are available for a $13 fee through Educational Service District 113 for those participating in the workshop.

To participate in the field trip orientation workshop, complete and submit a registration form

For more information, see the attached flier.

Hands On Children’s Museum invites educators to explore museum

Educator Night Out information for Hands On Children's Museum event November 9Elementary teachers take note: The Hands On Children’s Museum is hosting a free Educator Night Out event on Thursday, November 9.

Educators are encouraged to explore the museum, enjoy refreshments, and get information about field trip opportunities, its mobile education program, and art and science workshops.

The free event for educators 21 and older is from 5:30-7:30 p.m. To register, call 360-956-0818 Ext. 103, or email reservations@hocm.org.

Staff may earn clock hours for attendance at parenting workshops

Parent educator Candyce Lund Bollinger poses for the cameraThe Olympia School District is pleased to offer free parent education workshops with Candyce Lund Bollinger during the 2017-18 school year. Workshops will be offered on a variety of topics, each geared to elementary or middle and high school parents.

Staff may earn clock hours for attendance at the two-hour workshops, which are offered on a variety of dates throughout the year (minimum of three hours of attendance to qualify for clock hours).

Each workshop is held from 6:30-8:30 p.m. at the Olympia Regional Learning Academy. OSD staff will learn skills to help students succeed in the classroom.

Register for the workshops in pdEenroller, #48997.

Bollinger is a parent educator and private parenting counselor in Washington State and has been practicing for more than 35 years. She provides classes and consultations for schools, colleges, civic groups, private organizations and has a private practice.  She is the mother of four children and has two grandchildren.

Applications due October 20 for elementary teacher mini-grants

Information about $200 mini-grants for elementary teachersThe Thurston County School Retirees’ Association is accepting applications for its $200 elementary teacher mini-grant program for the 2017-18 school year.

The deadline to apply for the elementary mini-grants is October 20, 2017. The grants are designed to provide an opportunity for elementary school teachers to enhance the education of their students.

The application is available on the Thurston County Retirees’ Association website.

For additional information, contact Jo Edwards at fastwalker1000@comcast.net. Thurston County School Retirees’ Association is a chapter of the Washington State School Retirees’ Association.

Introducing pdEnroller

The Olympia School District has joined ESD 113 to replace MyOSD with pdEnroller for staff development registration and tracking/purchasing of clock hours. This new platform is more user-friendly and will allow for easier tracking of your account history.

The first time you visit pdEnroller, you will need to activate your account.  Begin at the ESD 113 website → Classes and Workshops, https://www.esd113.org/domain/425.

pdEnroller Start Here button example

Your MyOSD login and password were transferred into pdEnroller.  You should not need to create a new account, but some users of MyOSD logged in with personal email addresses.   It is preferable that you associate your pdEnroller account with your @osd email address. If you have forgotten your password, click on the prompt to reset your password.  You may also log in with an EDS account.

pdEnroller Log in example

After activating your account, pdEnroller may be accessed through the OSD website, the OSD portal, or by going directly to pdenroller.org.

For additional information, you may contact ESD 113 at 464-6700 or call Clare Tynan in the OSD Teaching & Learning Department at 596-8540.

Save the date for the Annual Ice Cream Social

Employees gather for the 2016 Annual Ice Cream Social

Employees gather at the 2016 Annual Ice Cream Social

Mark your calendars! The Olympia School District Annual Ice Cream Social is on Thursday, May 25.  The social takes place in the Capital High School Commons beginning at 4 p.m.

During the event, our school board will honor dedicated staff members who are retiring this year.  The Olympia Education Association will also recognize our Advocates of the year and honor one of our faculty members with the Teacher of the Year Award.

Staff and families are welcome to attend. We hope to see you all there!

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 11.42.23 AM